Skip to content

Dies Natalis Invicti Solis

December 21, 2009

Welcome to IslaMama!

Starting a new blog is a little like stepping onto a beach at sunrise. The  sand waits smooth and footprint-less and while it feels great to set of strolling, I do end up leaving evidence of an awkward gait. All this white page sans words space feels a trifle intimidating. So (inhale) time to take a deep breath and start those fingers typing (and should exhale  or I won’t get too far!)

I think it’s fitting to begin my new blog on the solstice. My family spends most of our time living on the rural west side of a rural island in the middle of a big ocean (the biggest one around). As a result our twilight is short and without any daylight savings, our nights usually grow dark much quicker than for our mainland friends and family. The absence of marked wintry changes (snowy hillsides, black iced sidewalks, frosted windshield, laced up ice skates) means that sometimes the seasons roll on by while we float along in a sort of tropical time coma.

At least that’s how I thought it would be when we first got to Hawaii. And indeed it was for the first year or so. Then slowly the coconut coma lifted, i wiped the seasalt out of my eyes and started looking around.What did I find?

Change. EVERYWHERE. With each breaking wave, each eroding slope, each dead run over chicken, each falling mango, or each new cloud spreading like a dragon across the mountain face. It can be so subtle that I won’t notice it until my little chum Jarah is pointing,  saying “wOw! wOw!” to a tiny crab hitchhiking a ride on our beach towel or it can be all IN YO’ FACE SUCKA like, say a tsunami watch on a pleasant Thursday afternoon .

I read that the Romans referred to the solstice as Dies Natalis Invicti Solis-The Birthday of the Unconquered Sun. I like it. So happy birthday sun. And huzzah little blog!

This space represents a new adventure and I hope it will be a fun one. Here is a look from 2009 (with a quick sneak waaay back to The Great Incubation of ’08). In summary: I gave birth and babies grow somewhere around the speed of light.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 10, 2011 6:49 am

    xYtThf Very true! Makes a change to see someone spell it out like that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

