Skip to content

The rare Isladorkus

December 29, 2009

Captured on film for the first time in 1983. By 1991, Isladorkus was no longer so cute. She began getting seats blocked from her on the school bus. This quickly devolved into her finding notes in the hallway and reading them (alone) during lunch pretending she had friends. But hey, she always had Patrick Swayze in PG-13 black pants above her bed.

As a former friendless middle schooler, I have given long though on how I’d like to parent future popular/unpopular children. I am still thinking…no easy answers. I appreciate that my parents allowed me to freely make decisions, particularly on washing and dressing. But really Mom, did you have to let me out of the house wearing the MASSIVE Malcolm X bling the first day of school in 7th grade? Really?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

