Skip to content

Lucky

March 17, 2010

Happy St. Patrick’s Day. While cloaked under the guise of Taddonio, I secretly harbor more Irish DNA than any other nationality (smuggled through my grandmother’s genes on both sides).  And yes, I have been plagued (especially in childhood) by crippling forms of Roman Catholic guilt brought on by a trifecta of Italian, Irish and German Catholic heritages. Remember the Pieta shrine I set up in my room in 6th grade Mom? The one I couldn’t walk past without touching my nose to the ground three times in case the lord would smite me for lying about drinking my warm thermos of milk at lunch? Good times…

Moving on. So St. Patrick’s Day growing up was a time to eat corned beef, cabbage, boiled potatoes and toast the fact that somehow this guy drove all the snakes out of Ireland. Our house was wracked with snake phobia as well so this was a rather noted event. As I grew up I realized, I hate corned beef. It’s nasty stuff. And that was that.

Until Jarah was born. Now I feel like we need TRADITIONS! (insert some type of russian accent here, coupled by a fist pounding on the table). So today what am I doing? Yes, cooking corned beef, cabbage and potatoes in the slow cooker. I am not a big fan of handling raw meat in the best of times. In my still nausea stricken 14th week of pregnancy, rinsing a hunk of meat triggered the gag reflex. Jarah began squealing with anticipation, I’m sure what he was saying was something along the lines of, “Oh please Mummy puke, that would be sooooo enjoyable this morning.”

Sadly for Jarah, I summoned up the ghosts of the McNeilys, Cotters, Fagans and likely other Irish ancestors and got the whole thing in the pot without any more fuss. Jarah, this brisket is for you. Lucky Ducky.

One thing I AM looking forward to for dinner tonight is Irish Soda Bread. I baked two pans yesterday and one was gone by sundown. Holy smokes it is good, and happily for me, freaking easy.

DELISH IRISH SODA BREAD

3 C whole wheat flour

1 t salt

1 t baking soda

1 T baking powder

1/3 C sugar

1/4 C butter

2 C buttermilk

1 egg, lightly beaten

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.

Mix dry materials in a large mixing bowl.

Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients. Add buttermilk and egg.

Knead dough on a flat surface being careful to not overknead. The soda bread batter should still be lumpy when you are finished kneading. I used my trusty KitchenAid stand mixer which worked great too.

Place your dough into greased 9X5 pan.

Bake at 325 degrees for about 65 minutes until the bread is a golden brown. Remove it from the oven to a wire rack to allow for cooling.

MMMMMMMMMM…….

So today I feel lucky to dig out old family traditions for my new family members. I am pretty sure Jarah is feeling lucky he was able to have nutella on toast for breakfast. What are YOU feeling lucky for today?

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 5, 2010 12:48 pm

    WHAT?! that shrine was REAL??? gawd your childhood was funny. (use of “gawd” instead of g-o-d is a sign of mexican roman catholic guilt)

Leave a Reply

