Skip to content

She’s Off Her Rocker: Tip #1

November 5, 2010

“She’s Off Her Rocker” – the new Friday tradition here at Islamama! Want tips for successful parenting without the whole going batshit insane part? Then look elsewhere my friends.

It may seem counter intuitive, but your crazy might just be the sanest you’ve been all day. In my humble opinion, successful parenting ocassionally walks (shuffles) hand in hand with a more wild-eyed version of yourself…wearing spaghetti sauce for rouge and muttering “I’m forever blowing bubbles…pretty bubbles…”

Are you also a little off your rocker? Well then, wipe off your drool and leave a tip before you go, you just might help another Mama (or Daddy) out!

She’s Off Her Rocker: Tip #1

Talk to Imaginary Animals

When Jarah began to navigate the world of what we refer to in our house as “big feelings”, aka toddler tantrums, I felt a bit at a loss on how to respond appropriately. I did what most newbie mamas do and consulted a book, in this case Happiest Toddler on the Block by Dr. Harvey Karp. I wasn’t about to shell out our bucks on a mildly well-adjusted young lad. I wanted the happiest damnit! I read most of it, and promptly forgot almost everything. Except for one small kernel.

Apparently kids really, really  like to be overheard getting praise. It makes sense. If someone says to me, “Wow, you look nice today.” I think, “Oh my god, I must look so disheveled people are now resorting to giving me pep talks.” But if I was to hear that same someone say to another hypothetical someone, “Hey, Lea just had a baby but wow, she looks great.” I’d think, “Really, I do? Yeah me!”

This type of gossip is obviously hard to do if you’re a Stay at Home Mama. I needed an audience. Cue….The Baby Gecko.

What? I live in Hawai‘i, what was it supposed to be? The invasive bird out the window?

So The Baby Gecko receives regular updates on Jarah’s progress throughout the day. Ate a breakfast which resulted in no meltdowns over the way I spread the peanut butter. Hey Baby Gecko…check this out!

Pooped on the potty? That’s right Baby Gecko, you’re feeling me.

Gave his sister a nice touch? Baby Gecko, Jarah’s blowing my mind.

And you know what? It works a charm. In fact the more animated I am at regaling The Baby Gecko with Jarah’s positive behavior, the more worked up he is to do nicer than nicer helpfully things.

It probably also doesn’t hurt that The Baby Gecko also makes regular appearances around the kitchen, or on the window screen. The Baby Gecko is kinda like the Olsen twins on Full House in that way. There may be a small army of The Baby Geckos out there. But I don’t care, I’m talking to them all.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2010 11:49 pm

    I love this! I am going to have to start telling Franklin about Stephanie’s accomplishments.

  2. April 10, 2011 11:01 am

    93fngv That’s really thinking out of the box. Thanks!

  3. April 22, 2011 12:46 pm

    r9eg5o cgpbndxcgznk

Leave a Reply

