Skip to content

Off Her Rocker: Tip #4

November 27, 2010

“She’s Off Her Rocker” – the new Friday tradition here at Islamama! Want tips for successful parenting without the whole going batshit insane part? Then look elsewhere my friends.

It may seem counter intuitive, but your crazy might just be the sanest you’ve been all day. In my humble opinion, successful parenting occasionally walks (shuffles) hand in hand with a more wild-eyed version of yourself…wearing spaghetti sauce for rouge and muttering “I’m forever blowing bubbles…pretty bubbles…”

Are you also a little off your rocker? Well then, wipe off your drool and leave a tip before you go, you just might help another Mama (or Daddy) out!

She’s Off Her Rocker: Tip #4

a defense of crocs

People have exceptionally negative feelings about Crocs. My fashion forward sister is literally appalled I own a pair. I faced frequent mocking by admin staff at my former office for them, “shun the holey shoe wearer, shun her”.

I am a bit ambivalent…they are part of the front door shoe line-up and if I happen to spot them first then they end up on my feet. Better matching Crocs than the sparkly silver sandal and weathered Birkenstock combo I inadvertently sported to buy milk at the Waimea Big Save last week!

Jarah is the proud owner of two Croc sets. When it comes to these toddler shoes I am a zealous defender. The case is simple. He can put Crocs on solo style. For me with a two month wiggler in a sling and a frequent armload of crap (or family treasure depending on my mood), anything that gives my toddler a modicum of increased independence is a good good thing. Granted, they may not be super attractive. In all “truthiness,” if he wanted to wear ladies hot pink satin pumps I’d applaud, provided he gets those slinky suckers on all by himself.

 

Wrong feet woes? Nah, it's all good.

 

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 27, 2010 2:33 am

    Stephanie basically only wears shoes that she can put on herself. I don’t think she has one pair in her current rotation that has laces.

  2. Keren Gundersen permalink
    November 27, 2010 1:14 pm

    Back in the day, we had velcro. They offered the same independence. Pick your battles, I say!

  3. Melissa Goodner permalink
    November 27, 2010 8:56 pm

    Just the other day I told Daniel we need to get Garrison some Crocs so he can put his shoes on himself.

  4. Sarah permalink
    November 28, 2010 4:44 pm

    They are not just easy to put in, you can wear them on the wrong foot, no problem !

  5. elkboy permalink
    November 30, 2010 10:29 am

    I like crocs for toddlers, but shiver when I see them on an adult. It’s not a fashion thing (seriously, I wear flip flops every single day to work), I just think they’re kind of creepy.

Leave a Reply

