Skip to content

Why I have fallen off the face of the virtual world…

March 6, 2011

The ever fabulous Maya Angelou (who I cannot believe is hitting up Santa Cruz when I am outta town) once wrote, “the ache for home lives in all of us.” And in my not-so-quiet, OCD way…I have ached and ached and ached for a home of our own. If my official title is homemaker, where is my office? I have dreamed of garden plots, chickens, and nesting for so long I feel like I should have a long, white beard and talk about when milk was a nickel.

But now my friends,  I will ache in a whole new way. The way that can only come from cannonballing into an ocean of debt known as the California real estate market.

Ladies and gentleman…may I present to you the relic of the 70’s, the wonder of jungled backyards everywhere…our first home!

 

I could disparage, poke fun of and deride this little fixer upper like I have for the past 6 weeks it has ruled our lives. But no more! This weird little plot of land is now our family stomping grounds and it needs lots of love, warm words and kind intentions to grow forth and flourish.

We get the keys in two days.

One Comment leave one →
  1. pauline permalink
    March 7, 2011 8:57 pm

    Awesome!!! I’m so excited for you that my finger just keeps hitting the !!! key !!!

    It looks like this house has a lot to love, and all I will say is this: get your garden started before it dries out! Also, tell me where you are? That way I can come visit.

    Best wishes on your newest adventure.

    – pauline

Leave a Reply

