Skip to content

Ain’t No Fever Quite Like Bieber Fever

March 1, 2012

If my childless self circa 2000 was to be told my two most popular Pandora stations of late have been Justin Bieber and Kidz Bop, I would have have (wondered “what the hell is Pandora” but indulge the hypothetical ) rapidly searched out voluntary tubal ligation.

But baby, baby, baby, oh baby, baby, baby here’s a little secret… it ain’t that bad.

Lately our musical mornings means we invent elaborate interpretive dance moves (some i have coined, others are pure Jarah, I’ll let you determine which is which):

throw the magic sprinkles like it’s going on pasta 

broken butterfly wing

goldilocks getting eaten by the three bears

the cheetah eating gazelle roar

the zebra tunnel

elusive kitchen table face collision

mama tolerating smash mouth head bob

bronte barbells

rib smusher

But younger cooler self, you use to subsist solely on Lipton Bags of Rice meals, beer and bagels so perhaps coolness walks hand in hand with severe vitamin deficiency. for god’s sakes, eat an orange-it won’t kill you.

Right now Jarah’s singing “Three Little Birds,” and that’s pretty awesome, (even if it’s along to Alvin and the Chipmunks and not Bob Marley.)

I could dig out our American Apparel and pretend we are just super ironic, but let’s be honest…I feel kinda like I’m in 7th grade and that kid was  assuredly NOT cool.

Exhibit A:

The mullet and third ear (look close at those coke bottles) are gone, but let’s be honest. I’m still this kid. I’ve just learned to embrace it.

And as such I gotta go cause Shawty fire burnin’ on the dance floor, whoa

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Megan Sayer permalink
    March 1, 2012 1:48 pm

    Lea I love your blog. You are SO funny!!!

  2. March 1, 2012 2:19 pm

    Seventh grade hell…you looked the same as a senior! Ha! 🙂

  3. March 1, 2012 2:28 pm

    JT-wait a second…I thought you were supposed to be on MY side. MS-thanks <3!

  4. Erin permalink
    March 1, 2012 2:44 pm

    LOVE! Embrace, definitely.

  5. Jenny permalink
    March 6, 2012 12:43 pm

    Ha! So awesome! Makes me want to dig up my permed hair school pics.

Leave a Reply

